THE BALL – Russell dominates the first day at Sakhir (Formula 1)


George Russell added the best record in the first free practice session for the Sakhir Grand Prix to the fastest lap in the second! The 22-year-old Briton, making his Mercedes-AMG debut at the Formula 1 World Championship, can add his first championship points in two seasons. In the first 36 races the driver represented Williams, a team to which he will return after the recovery of Lewis Hamilton, infected with COVID-19.

Today, on the high-speed outdoor circuit of Sakhir, another novelty in the Formula 1 calendar, the former GP3 (2017) and Formula 2 (2018) champion overcame the competition of Valtteri Bottas, who has the same car and is not went better than the eleventh time, after several fast laps “eliminated” for violation of the track limits. Russell, in the first training session, finished at the top of the standings with 54,546 seconds. In the second, she was not so fast, but 54.713 seconds were enough to secure her 1st position.

Tomorrow (17h00), after the third free practice session, qualifying for the first Grand Prix of Sakhir. The author of the pole on the 3,543 km circuit will enter the name of the list of Formula 1 records, with the fastest lap in the 70-year history of the championship. He will succeed the Austrian Niki Lauda, ​​at the top of the standings since 1974, when he secured, at the wheel of a Ferrari, the 1st position on the starting grid of the French Grand Prix in Dijon, with 58.79 seconds.

Results of the free training 2

1st George Russell, Mercedes-AMG, 54.713 seconds

2nd Max Verstappen, Red Bull-Honda, +0.128 seconds

3.º Sergio Pérez, Racing Point-Mercedes, +0.153 seconds

4th Esteban Ocon, Renault, +0.227 seconds

5th Alexander Albon, Red Bull-Honda, +0.323 seconds

6th Daniil Kvyat, AlphaTauri-Honda, +0.355 seconds

7.º Lance Stroll, Racing Point-Mercedes, +0.391 s

8th Daniel Ricciardo, Renault, +0.411 seconds

9.º Pierre Gasly, AlphaTauri-Honda, +0.420 s

10th Carlos Sainz Jr., McLaren-Renault, +0.545 seconds

11.º Valtteri Bottas, Mercedes-AMG, +0.608 seconds

12.º Kimi Räikkönen, Alfa Romeo-Ferrari, +, 608 p

13.º Antonio Giovinazzi, Alfa Romeo-Ferrari, 0.771 s

14. Kevin Magnussen, Haas-Ferrari, +1.025 seconds

15.º Nicholas Latifi, Williams-Mercedes, +1.071 seconds

16.º Sebastian Vettel, Ferrari, +1.117 seconds

17th Lando Norris, McLaren-Renault, +1.318 sec

18.º Pietro Fittipaldi, Haas-Ferrari, +1.397 s

19.º Jack Aitken, Williams-Mercedes, +1.547 seconds

20th Charles Leclerc, Ferrari, out of time


Source link